Floating Points will release his brand new album, titled Crush this coming Friday, 25th October. The 12-track LP lands on Ninja Tune some four years after the release of his critically-acclaimed last album, Elaenia. The 2015 album cemented Floating Points as one of electronic music’s modern day masters, but fans might be in for a surprise with the new material.

The man otherwise known as Sam Shepherd has warned fans to expect his “most obtuse and aggressive music” to date. Seemingly a far-cry from the melodic nu-jazz overtures that were found on Elaenia. Shepherd gave fans a taster of what was to come back in June, with the release of lead single LesAlpx.

Ahead of its commercial release, you can now preview a little bit more of the album, with two further tracks added to Floating Points’ Soundcloud artist page.

Crush is said to be inspired by Shepherd’s improvisational sessions whilst touring with The XX during their 2017 headline tour. Immediately before the tour kicked-off, Floating Points had been performing a run of shows with a live band. When faced with a Buchla synthesiser solo on the opening night, he found the freedom “liberating”. You can see the full tracklisting below.

  1. Falaise

  2. Last Bloom

  3. Anasickmodulator

  4. Requiem For CS70 and Strings

  5. Karakul

  6. LesAplx

  7. Bias

  8. Environments

  9. Birth

  10. Sea-Watch

  11. Apoptose Part I

  12. Apoptose Part II

 Floating Points is the special guest at the enormous Feel My Bicep edition of WHP Mayfield Depot on Saturday 30th November. Naturally, Bicep will be there too, playing a DJ set. There will also be appearances from 808 State, Midland, Avalon Emerson, DJ Seinfeld, HAAi, Hammer, Willow and techno pioneer Jeff Mills. Pretty stacked!

Early bird tickets are on sale now.

Crush is released on Friday 25th November via Ninja Tunes. 

Click here for info & tickets